NEWS3-yr jail for three rail policemen

February 17, 2018, 11:41 AM

Bettiah: Three police constables, dismissed from service on charges of looting train passengers in August 2012, were sentenced to three years imprisonment by the court of Bettiah rail judicial magistrate Sriram Jha on Friday.

Those sent to jail are Navin Kumar, resident of Majhaul village under Cheria-Bariarpur in Begusarai, Uday Narayan Singh, resident of Bogia village under Daudnagar police station, Saran, and Udai Prasad Chaudhary, resident of Gathira Rampur under Narayan Nagar police station in Munger district.

Additional public prosecutor Bal Krishn Dubey said the three jawans were part of a railway escort party deputed on down Jan Nayak Express on the night of August 27, 2012. Soon after the train left Narkatiaganj junction, the trio demanded identity proof from a passenger Brajesh Pandit. On Pandit’s inability to show his I-card, they demanded a bribe of Rs 300 from him, which he refused to pay. The constables then not only assaulted him but also relieved him of his money.

Bruised and looted, the aggrieved passenger on deboarding at Bettiah station, ran to the GRP thana and began shouting. A crowd congregated in his support. Another passenger, Azad Hussain of Beldari village under Bettiah Mufassil police station narrated a tale similar to Pandit. He too had been looted by the cops on board.

The rail police registered an FIR – Narkatiaganj Rail PS Case No. 25 of 2012. The three policemen were subsequently dismissed from service even as a speedy trial commenced. That trial concluded with the sentencing of the three cops on Friday.

Source-Times Of India


This entry was posted in Railway Employee, Railway Employee